Cyprus 2017/18 - academic year

Country: Cyprus
Year: 2017-2018
Public holidays: 1 November 2017 (All Saints Day), 2 April 2018 (Christmas Monday), 1 May 2018 (International Labour Day), 31 May 2018 (Corpus Christi), 22 June 2018 (Antifascist Resistance Day), 25 June 2018 (Statehood Day)

Beginning of the academic year

Public Universities in Cyprus are autonomous as regards to their modus operandi. Their schedules are determined by the universities themselves. The academic year usually starts between 1 and 15 September. At the UCY and the CUT classes start on 4 September 2017, whereas the OUC’s first student-tutor communication starts on 18 September 2017.

  1. University of Cyprus (UCY)
  2. Open University of Cyprus (OUC) 
  3. Cyprus University of Technology (CUT)

Teaching activity and holidays of the academic year

Public Universities determine all periods of teaching activity, as well as holidays.

Holiday periods at Public Universities will take place as follows:
23 December 2017 – 8 January 2018 (Christmas, at the end of the autumn semester)

2-15 April 2018 (Easter, before the end of the spring semester)
Summer session (if it is offered) starts in early June and lasts for 7 weeks.

Examinations of the academic year

Final examinations' periods and schedule are determined by the Universities themselves, whereas midterm examination dates may be set by faculty or faculty and students jointly. Only final examination periods appear on the academic calendar and these occur at the end of each semester.

The dates of the final examination periods in both UCY and CUT in 2017/18 are listed below:

8-23 December 2017 for autumn semester
7-25 May 2018 for spring semester
In OUC final examinations will take place from 29 May – 13 June 2018.

End of the academic year

The academic year traditionally ends at the end of July for all Universities.

last modification: 2017-09-25 11:18:14

Source: Eurydice 
Privacy Policy